Life a month later

So, here’s the thing. Life has been just a bit crazy, busy and a tad stressful – and when my life finds a groove in the combination of the above three, I generally find myself struggling to know what to write. It’s not as though there’s nothing to write about, but there is a lack of coherency in this pregnant brain of mine these days, at least when it comes to blog posts.

So, a brief recap of life as of late for starters and we’ll see if I can maybe, perhaps, write something a little more substantial over the next few weeks before Baby Girl arrives.

First off, I’m just about 38 weeks along now and sporting that classic basketball belly look. 38 weeks means that I could go at any time, but it also means that I could still very well be big and pregnant 3-4 weeks from now. That’s the luck of the draw when it comes to pregnancy! While I honestly don’t want to go past the 40 week marker, I still don’t feel *ready* to have her outside of me. Perhaps I’ll feel differently once she drops and my bladder and pelvis really start to feel her weight? I guess we shall see! We’re measuring right on track and in spite of a few minor scares, including a non-stress-test that was more than stressful, to say the least, we’re trucking along beautifully, little girl and I.

While the number on the scale still makes me wince, I can’t complain because my weight gain has happened gradually and is right on track. And she’s measuring in the 50th percentile, which makes this mama happy since she’s never been too psyched over the idea of pushing out a 9 pound baby. Still – there are days when I definitely feel like this:

Dr Who

Second piece of news: my last day of employment was February 21st and I’m now officially a stay-at-home-mom/wife. I still get a rushing sensation in my stomach when I think, “Oh my goodness, what have I done?!” For the first time in over 10 years, I’m unemployed. And I did it willingly! It’s definitely the right decision for our family, but it feels terrifying at times. I am grateful for a hard-working husband who supports me in this decision, both financially and emotionally – we make a great team, in spite of our deficiencies and quirks!

Thirdly, it looks like we probably won’t be able to make the move and transition into the house before the baby is born. There’s just so much finish work that needs to be done. As we’ve gotten closer and closer to my due date, I have come to the realization that I need to accept this and prepare myself to bring a baby home to the apartment instead of the house. Since the apartment is in a state of packing and spring cleaning chaos, I’m diving straight into plan B, which is to make sure everything is less chaotic for her arrival. Packed boxes are going into storage later this week; meanwhile, I’m trying to clean and organize the rest of apartment to make room for a baby (!!!) and the necessary gear that comes with that bundle of joy. I’m not too psyched about the situation and if I could change things, I would! However, since there’s not much I can do about the situation, I’m trying to find peace in being prepared for her, in spite of worrying about the challenges that will come with final packing, moving and adjusting to a new house AND a new baby in the first few months after she arrives. I know that God is in control and we’ll survive. I keep reminding myself of this on the days that I struggle with stress and worry over it all. One day at a time.

So, that’s life overall. I’m unemployed, pregnant & bigger than a planet and staying very busy with baby and house preparations. What’s new with you?

This entry was posted in adventures, baby, building a house, Family, pregnancy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

