My Goal: Strong, Healthy Body!

IMG_1427A

Before I got pregnant, I spent over six months working on a healthier body. I worked out consistently and ate a balanced diet chock full of good proteins, healthy fats and lots of veggies. My goal was to be in better physical health in preparation for pregnancy, childbirth and motherhood/breastfeeding that followed.

Thankfully, I was able to continue with a balanced diet during my pregnancy. I had no morning sickness, just some minor indigestion, so it was easy to stay on track with lots of fresh veggies, lean proteins and healthy fats (yay for eggs, avocado and more!). Working out was a little more difficult since I did have the first trimester exhaustion. Still, I managed to regain some energy in the second trimester and began walking on the treadmill at a local gym a few evenings a week after work.

All in all, I could definitely have been in far worse physical shape when I gave birth. But pregnancy does a number on your body, no matter what kind of shape you are in. Stretch marks, muffin top tummy, breasts that are three times the size they used to be…things shift when you are pregnant and it’s not unusual for things to take time to find a new normal.

With the encouragement of some doula friends, I tried to take it as easy as possible during the weeks following Baby K’s birth. Between their advice and the research I’d done online myself, I figured it was better to take it easy than to injure myself and prolong recovery time.

{By the way, here are a great couple of articles that cover why it’s better to take time to recover.

Keeper of the Home’s Postpartum Rest & Recovery Tips

The Leaky Boob’s A Time to Heal }

So…time crawled by during the first two months. We finished the house and prepared for a move just a week after Baby K turned two months old. I was still exhausted between packing and babycare. Working out wasn’t high on my list of priorities before then. But once we felt settled into the house, I found myself itching to work out.

So, slowly, but surely, I started easing myself into the swing of things. I made exercising a part of my daily routine 3 days a week for the start and then worked my way up to 4-5 days a week. I really feel like I’m finally making progress and feel stronger than I have in awhile. I’m not quite back into the shape I was last summer before I got pregnant, but I feel stronger than I have in months! It feels amazing!

I’ll be back later this week to talk about what exactly my workout routine looks like. 🙂

This entry was posted in baby, Baby K, diet, Family, fitness, pregnancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

