Postpartum Workouts!

The best part about working out is the endorphins afterwards. I still don’t like exercising. I love having worked out, but I hate the process of gearing myself up for it, I hate having to push myself during my routine and I hate being hot and sweaty. 😛

But I do it anyway. Why? Because it is GOOD for me! Working out reaps rewards that I cannot do without. I want a strong core and healthy body, not just for myself, but for my family’s sake. If I want to be able to lift my daughter even when she’s a heavy toddler, I need strong abdominal muscles that have healed from pregnancy and childbirth. If I want to be a supportive mate for my husband, I need to continue exercising for mental clarity and emotional strength. And most of all, I want good health and happiness for myself! Self-care is important, especially for moms! And I’m pretty lucky to have a flexible schedule that makes incorporating fitness into my daily life pretty darn easy.

So, what am I doing for a workout routine? For me, the KISS (Keep It Simple Stupid) approach seems to be the best approach for me these days; the less I have to think about what I’m going to do for a workout, the better. While pregnant, I had a membership to a local gym, but now that I have a little one, I need options that don’t require finding a babysitter on the days my husband isn’t around.

So…here’s what my weekly workout routine looks like.

2 days a week: I walk/jog at least 2 miles while pushing the baby in her jogging stroller. Yay for cardio! I’m really hoping to continue working my way up to jogging/running the entire 2 mile stretch. It’s definitely a lot harder to run while pushing an additional 30 pounds, between the stroller and baby, so I’m slowly working my way up to it. Ultimately, I’d love to be able to run a 5K next spring. Oh and the jogging stroller – definitely worth the investment!

2-3 days a week: I do Jillian Michaels’ Yoga Meltdown in the living room. Thanks to Amazon Prime, I have access to most of Jillian Michaels workout videos, which is awesome! Occasionally, I’ll change it up and do her 30 Day Shred or Six Week Six Pack. I like her workouts because she combines body strength training with cardio. I have difficulty figuring out what to do for body strength training on my own, so using her workout routines definitely makes it easy on me.

I also try to do Fit2Be’s Totally Transverse on the days that I go walking/jogging, to ensure I work on my core. Pregnancy often results in a condition called diastasis recti, which is basically when your core abdominal muscles have separated and left a gap in between them. Crunches, sit-ups and even planks won’t fix the problem and can even make it worse! So, it’s definitely a good idea to make sure your core has healed from pregnancy and childbirth before starting any postpartum fitness routine. Fit2Be has a great tutorial on how to check for diastasis recti AND how to go about healing it.

And that, in a nutshell, is what I’m doing on a regular basis. All of the above are easily done at home or in my neighborhood, without spending any money on a gym or childcare. Of course, I’ll have to change things up in the winter months when I’m snowbound and unable to go walking or jogging; when winter rolls around, I think we’ll seriously consider the purchase of a treadmill or elliptical just to make it easier to squeeze in some cardio.

In the meantime, this is what works for me. 🙂

This entry was posted in body strength training, cardio, fitness, postpartum fitness, weight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

